Outdated browser!
Your current browser is out of date and might not be able to display this website correctly. Please update your browser. Or click below to continue using the site.
Update browser

Entry to university

Your steps to an undergraduate degree programme at the University of Auckland

Two offers of place from the start

Enrol in a Foundation Studies programme and receive:

  1. An offer of place for the Foundation Studies programme
  2. A conditional offer of place for an undergraduate degree course at the University of Auckland (successfully complete the Foundation Studies programme and receive a confirmed offer)

To enter a University of Auckland undergraduate degree programme:

  • Score more than 40% in a minimum of four academic subjects in Foundation Studies
  • Achieve a B grade or higher in English for Academic Purposes (or IELTS Level 6.0 overall, with a minimum of 5.5 in all bands)

Other universities accept UP International College Foundation Studies students too

All New Zealand universities accept successful completion of the University of Auckland Certificate in Foundation Studies as meeting university entrance requirements.

Over 10,000 students have successfully transitioned to university through our Foundation Studies programmes delivered on behalf of the universities. Most students continue to the university offering the Foundation Studies programme, but  others undertake an undergraduate degree overseas. While no formal agreement exists, Foundation Studies students have been accepted at:

  • Australia
    • Australian National University
    • Bond University
    • Curtin University of Technology
    • La Trobe University
    • Macquarie University
    • Monash University Melbourne
    • Swinburne University
    • University of Adelaide
    • University of Melbourne
    • University of Queensland
    • University of Southern Queensland
    • University of Sydney
    • University of Technology Sydney
    • University of Western Australia
  • North America
    • California State University East Bay
    • City University of New York
    • National Autonomous University of México
    • Northern Arizona University
    • Oregon State University
    • Ryerson University
    • University of British Columbia
    • University of Hawaii
  • Europe
    • HIALS (Aalesund University College, Norway)
    • University of Amsterdam
    • University of Birmingham
    • University of Maastricht (the Netherlands)
    • University of Manchester
    • University of Nottingham (UK campus)
  • Asia
    • Maranatha Christian University
    • Nanyang Technological University
    • RMIT International University Vietnam
    • Singapore Management University
    • The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    • University of Nottingham (Ningbo campus)
  • Other
    • Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas
    • Prince Mohammad Bin Fahad University